New to Minor League Drafting - Strategies???

Theories, Concepts and Analytical Discussion (draft strategies, valuation, inflation, scarcity, etc.)
RotoSleuth

New to Minor League Drafting - Strategies???

#1 Post by RotoSleuth »

[12 team, AL only 4x4, keeper/auction league]

We are instituting a post auction, 2 round snake draft of minor leaguers. Must be true rookies (i.e. <130 ab, < 50ip MLB experience). If activated during the season, salary will be $10. Each year, we keep 9 players, so in order to keep rookie player next year, I would need at least $10 in expected value to keep them.

Since I'm new to minor league drafting and I typically stay away from the hyped up rookie phenoms, I thought I would inquire about possible drafting strategies.

Do people draft for players whom can help them primarily in '09 only as '10 is a crapshoot? If so, If not inthe running for say a Price/Weiter etc, would one be better served for MR type pitchers or prospects witjh poor teams that will more likely move players up thus gain some value (maybe not $10, but a FA pick-up is going to be $10 anyhow)?

Do people draft for '10 in hopes that players will be worth the $10 to keep?

Do people use them primarily for trade bait to get solid keepers?

etc., etc.....

Thanks to any & all thoughts.

da_big_kid_94
Hall of Famer

Re: New to Minor League Drafting - Strategies???

#2 Post by da_big_kid_94 »

It primarily depends on what your active roster is set up for. If it's a push to win this year, then you want the guys who are hovering for '09. If you're close and need another year for a few more pieces, you may want to pay more attention to the guys a little further down the line.