How to use Mastersball?

Theories, Concepts and Analytical Discussion (draft strategies, valuation, inflation, scarcity, etc.)
tamburgy

How to use Mastersball?

#1 Post by tamburgy »

Hi all,

I'm new to Mastersball, just signed up for the platinum tools (been using other sites over the years) and am very excited to try a new approach this year. I've used SGP in the past (relatively new to fantasy) and can't wait to expand.

My question, is how to effectively use the site to learn and best use for my upcoming draft. What makes it a little difficult, is that I'm in a non-traditional league.

I'm in a 20 team Roto (non-keeper), 7x7 league (HRs, RBIs, Runs, AVG, OBP, Net Steals, and Bases Produced (which is Total Bases + SBs) for batters) and (Net Wins, Net Saves, Holds, WHIP, ERA, K/9, and Quality Starts for pitchers).

Roster Positions: C, C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, CI, MI, OF, OF, OF, OF, Util, 10 Pitchers, 5 Bench.

How can i best use Mastersball to prepare the best i can for the upcoming draft.

Also, I have the first overall pick in this 20 team draft. Who would be your choice for the first overall pick in such a league.

Thanks for any help. I appreciate any help I can get. I can't wait to learn more about new ways to improve the way i look at this season.
Last edited by tamburgy on March 3rd, 2009, 11:24 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: How to use Mastersball?

#2 Post by Guest »

Welcome aboard.

A few ideas:

1. I'll assume you've read everything, but if not, read everything.
2. I imagine you're concerned with 7X7 rankings - one of the challenges here is we don't project QS or H, but we can certainly recommend strategies for dealing with them.
3. Someone on here just participated in a 7X7, 20 teamer this weekend. I think it was posted in the Strategy section, but they may have observations on who this league liked.