Scoresheet Strategy and Trading

Theories, Concepts and Analytical Discussion (draft strategies, valuation, inflation, scarcity, etc.)
mkieffer
Major Leaguer

Scoresheet Strategy and Trading

#1 Post by mkieffer »

Hey all,

I have been doing Scoresheet for a few years, and it's a different animal than your typical roto leagues.

I often get trade offers and do not know if I am being offered a fair trade or not.

Example:

I am playing in a 10 team, NL Only Private League. I have been offered Zack Cozart (cross over player, our private league allows 3 I am currently protecting only one) and Riley Pint (whom I like as a prospect but is probably 4-5 years away from making an impact) for Pick 15.8 (which was an extra pick acquired by previous owner)

I took over a tough team this year, and have Pick 14.2, 15.2, and all subsequent round picks. I also have an extra 17th round pick: 17.7. I currently have Cozart rated as the #3 SS in NL Only for this format but #6 3B in NL only for this format.

As at stands right now I am planning on protecting: McCutchen, Jay Bruce, Bour, Molina, Kemp, Kendrick, Gio Gonzalez, Chase Anderson, Tanner Roark, Wacha, Jared Hughes, Pedro Baez, so I have a need for 3B and SS. I will have the opportunity to draft either Quintana or Longoria, so I will be able to strengthen 3B or my SP core depending on what happens with the #1 pick.

Another offer I have is to acquire Cozart for either 16.2 or 17.2. That might just be the better deal to take, no?

What do you think? I have a hard time valuing trades in this format where minor leaguers are protected, people are on top of things with acquiring international signings and high draft picks.

Todd Zola
Hall of Famer

Re: Scoresheet Strategy and Trading

#2 Post by Todd Zola »

How many can you keep?

Scoresheet can be confusing in terms of rounds.

Let's say everyone keeps ten. Is the first pick of the draft 11.01?

Do farm players count against your keepers?